So what exactly does LEED mean? LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, and is simply a certification process that was set up by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) to certify green homes. LEED details the code that all parties who touch the home – from architects, to builders & developers, to the subcontractors will follow.


People often hear that a project is LEED certified Silver or Gold status. There are actually four levels of LEED certification, and projects are awarded points as a project is built. Depending upon the number of points received, the project is awarded certified, silver, gold or platinum status.


According to the USGBC, there are nine key areas measured by LEED:


  • Sustainable Sites

  • Water Efficiency

  • Energy and Atmosphere

  • Materials and Resources

  • Indoor Environmental Quality

  • Location and Linkages

  • Awareness and Education

  • Innovation in Design

  • Regional Priority



LEED Requirements

  • houzz-logo-on-black.jpg
  • Facebook Social Icon

J. Hensley Services

4025 Red Bank Road, Unit A

Cincinnati, OH 45227


(fax) 513-672-2553

© 2019 by J. Hensley Services LLC. Proudly created with